What clients have to say…

“Many thanks for your very comprehensive report. Not the best news, but confirmed what we expected! Now we have to act upon it. We have already started making enquiries in the building world. We will keep you posted and contact you if we have any further questions. Everyone we have shown the report thinks it is an excellent piece of work and well worth the money.”
Pat & Chris Savage 22.04.2017
(Inspection April 2017)
“Many thanks for your report, it makes very interesting reading! Thankfully there doesn't appear to be any issues that will delay our purchase. However your recommendations and advice are comprehensive and gratefully received and will very much assist us in the appropriate maintenance and ultimate improvement of the property. Once again thank you for your professional assistance and if we have any queries in the future I will not hesitate in contacting you.”
Sandra Tebbutt 07.01.2017
(Inspection January 2017)
“Thank you so much for doing the damp report it was so beautifully presented and very in-depth. Thank you also for all your valuable advice it certainly came in handy. I would recommend you to anyone who has any doubts about their house or any house they are proposing to buy I think your survey was most useful. I eventually got a builder to quote and actually do the work and the bill came to £650, he also rendered the back wall when he'd finished. Once more thank you so much for all your marvellous advice.”
Sheila Dobson 29.08.16
(Inspection June 2016)
“David provided me with a damp survey of the highest quality and I can not recommend his expertise and support highly enough. He will always be my first port of call for all types of building survey in the future.”
James Harding 21.03.16
(Inspection March 2016)
“I am writing to inform you what action we took as a result of your report. We decided eventually to re-build the two bay windows, fit a new new roof and also replace all the window sills at the front of the house, as the cost of rebuilding wasn’t significantly more than just having the roof over the bay windows re-done. We decided to use the builder who had built our rear extension in 2012, unfortunately he wasn’t able to do the work until May 2015. The work was completed in June 2015. One thing that came to light, when he removed the old windows, was that there was standing water on top of bricks under the frames, which formed the sills both upstairs and downstairs. The reason for this in addition to the cracked sill you had identified, appeared to be that most of the drainage channels in the window frames, were blocked by the render which covered the bricks forming the sills. Having now had a spell of wet windy weather, we have had no problems with water ingress or dampness, and the whole house is becoming drier with the passage of time, indicated by some shrinkage of the existing timber used in the original construction of the house and a significant reduction in condensation which is still improving as time passes. So thank you very much for your recommendations which have solved our problems with damp and I would be more than happy to use our experience as a testimonial.”
Byron Jones 10.02.16
(Inspection July 2014)
“We would happily recommend David to anyone who needs specialist damp surveys or advice on the purchase of a period house. He is prompt, reasonably priced, very professional, extremely knowledgeable, and perhaps most importantly, really cares about his clients and period houses. He does not insist on the removal of all non-period features, but instead gives sensible advice about what needs to be done to a property to remove/prevent problems using methods in-keeping with the history of the property. His carefully tailored reports are excellent and easily understandable by those with little knowledge of building work and heritage properties. His post-report follow-up advice is also excellent, which helps remove the associated fear of what you might find behind that plaster/modern brickwork/render as you remove it. Everyone seems to have an opinion on what best to do with a period property, David is one of the people that you should listen to.”
Adam & Claire 09.02.16
(Inspection January 2016)
“Thank you very much indeed for your detailed and helpful report and for visiting us. We have read it all through carefully and are hopeful that our damp problems can gradually be put right by following the experienced advice you have given. It was useful that you took pains to explain the thinking behind each step, too. While we see that there is no one-stop 'silver bullet' answer (i.e. re-inject the damp proof course!!) we can now see the need for a multi-faceted approach and also the order of priority. It was interesting to hear what you were able to tell us about the history and structure of our house and the many additional bits of information about properties of this era in general. We are now at the point of looking for an excellent and sympathetic (to the materials needed) builder and also planning what we can do ourselves (i.e. utility room floor etc.) I have no doubt that in the course of the next weeks/months we will be glad to contact you again as per your follow-up advice service – we are bound to have further questions as we implement the steps outlined. Thank-you once again for an informative, thorough and professional service.”
Alex & Andrew Lynn-Smith 25.01.16
(Inspection January 2016)
“Thank you very much for your thorough, clear and helpful report. Although we now have a lot of work to do it is good that we have now found an obvious expert to explain what was causing our damp problems.”
Peter Hallinan 12.11.15
(Inspection November 2015)
“We live in a 19th century tenement flat which we are slowly restoring. Before tackling any of the damp problems, we wanted an expert opinion on probable causes and possible solutions. We chose David Kinsey due to the wealth of free advice about period buildings on his website. In person he was just as helpful, was happy to answer our layman's questions and explain the construction of our building and the problems with later additions. His written report arrived within a few days of the visit and was comprehensive and very helpful - with clear advice on how to tackle the problems. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend David Kinsey to anyone wanting an expert opinion, coupled with excellent service.”
Peter McNally 01.10.2015
(Inspection September 2015)
“I find the report most helpful in pointing the way to addressing the damp issues at Tara Cottage. I only wish I had asked you to carry out your inspection before the recent so-called damp proofing work was carried out, as it would have saved considerable time and expense!”
Chris Raymond 02.09.2015
(Inspection August 2015)
“David performed a damp survey for us, looking various areas of damp throughout our house. We had previously approached a range of builders and other surveyors about the damp but the problems remained unsolved. During his visit, David was meticulous, looking at every corner of the house. His enthusiasm and expertise was evident and he shared a mine of information about the structure and history of the house in general. David's report was very detailed and thorough and yet was very readable. It provided a full and detailed explanation of the various causes of damp in general and what was causing the damp in our house specifically. Whilst being very detailed, the report focused on the information of prime concern to us - i.e. what needs to be done and how urgently. David's service after delivery of the report was invaluable. I deal with a number of experts and expert reports in my professional life and it is very unusual to come across an expert who knows his subject in such depth and yet communicates so clearly and helpfully.”
S Norton 07.04.15
(Inspection October 2014)
“David's expertise and knowledge in his field surpassed expectation. He explained issues at great length and was open to discussion, as his approachable manner made us feel at ease to ask basic questions. We received a thorough and comprehensive report, which whilst dealing with technical issues, David used terminology which explained issues and conclusions clearly. We would not hesitate to recommend David, and we feel comfortable knowing we could further discuss our home with him in the future.”
Jennifer Copello 19.02.15
(Inspection January 2015)
“David's expertise has been invaluable in diagnosing and recommending solutions for what appeared at first sight to be a serious damp problem. He gave several useful pieces of advice even before I'd officially engaged him, and the post-visit report was detailed, thorough, and promptly delivered. I now have a good understanding of the remedial work required, and am looking forward to a dry and cosy atmosphere in all parts of the house.”
Harry Trevelyan 04.02.15
(Inspection January 2015)
“We were delighted by the calibre, thoroughness & remedial solutions you very clearly detail. You are obviously both knowledgable & passionate about your area of expertise & we feel very reassured that your solutions will work.”
L Hunter 18.12.14
(Inspection November 2014)
“Our 1820 built home was showing signs of degradation caused by what appeared to be damp. David Kinsey, Period House Pathologist, completed an extremely thorough examination of the property and provided an easy to digest report where he identified issues, recommended solutions, and prioritised works needing to be carried out to repair and better manage our lovely character property. I consider him to be expert in his field with a no nonsense approach to his work. He explained the problems clearly and succinctly and gave extremely clear advice on how found problems should be rectified. Excellent advice all round, highly recommended - money well spent.”
R K O'Neill 18.11.14
Squadron Leader RAF (Rtd) MCGI
(Inspection November 2014)
“Thank you so much for doing our damp survey. The report is fantastic and invaluable and you have put our minds at rest to the causes and how to improve everything.”
Calli Latimer 06.10.14
(Inspection September 2014)
“Just a line to say how much we appreciated the comprehensive report which you sent us before Easter. We have engaged a builder ‒ with a copy of your report – to look at the urgent priorities which you outlined for us.”
Dair F-H 23.04.14
(Inspection March 2014)
“Thank you so much for your detailed report which we received last week. We have already been in touch with tradesmen to tackle the problems in the games room. We both felt reassured to know that our damp problems were solvable and appreciated your clear advice and recommendations.”
Vivienne Brittain 26.07.13
(Inspection July 2013)
“I write to thank you for your recent survey and advice on my property. You were kind enough to allow me along side during the survey, explaining details of my house and advice on how to rectify and improve the issues of damp I had around the front of the house. Not only did you explain why this had occurred but also identified risk areas to be aware of. You calmed my anxieties and helped put them into perspective which gave me some peace of mind; the subsequent report helping with recommendations for minor, moderate and serious issues. You worked around my busy schedule and resulting report arrived swiftly afterwards (within 2 days). I thank you for the wider advice you gave me during the survey which I found both interesting and educational despite employing your services predominately for damp advice. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend you further. In fact I forwarded your website details to a friend at work who has a similarly aged property in Norwich.”
Phil Clark 22.06.13
(Inspection June 2013)
“Many thanks for your detailed damp survey report for Old Rose Cottage. I am very pleased with the practicality of the report and it's recommendations.”
M Whiteside 12.06.13
(Inspection May 2013)
“Thank you so much for this advice, you really are the voice of wisdom and common sense that we need. Thank you for continuing to support us, I am so grateful. And of course if you ever want an endorsement for your website or materials, or a contact for potential clients to speak to as a reference, then we cannot sing your praises loudly enough.”
Helen Platt 02.02.13
(Inspection August 2012)
“Thank you again for coming out - we found it very helpful and also very interesting especially regarding our various damp problems, we now have a better idea as to how to tackle these!
Again, thank you for your advice.”
Claire Dormer 08.10.12
(Inspection October 2012)
“You very kindly came and did a damp report on our cottage in August. It has been an invaluable insight for our plans, and I cannot thank you enough. Not only that, but your thoroughness, approach and passion for the subject was inspirational. Thanks again for your help, “
Helen Platt 26.11.12
(Inspection August 2012)
“Sincere thanks for your professional report – detail superb”
Andrew Morris 15.02.2012
(Inspection February 2012)
“Thank you for the Damp Survey on White House Farm which was received today. The report is comprehensive, easy to understand and the priorities clearly stated. I found our initial telephone conversation gave me clear indications of your remit and fees as did the following letter and invoice instruction. The survey was undertaken in a calm professional manner. I would have no hesitation in recommending your service.”
Rev'd Sandy Mitchell 06.11.11
(Inspection October 2011)
“David's careful use of the thermal imaging camera provided information not economically obtainable by any other practical method, given the difficulties in gaining access to high parts of the medieval building. More than that, David was both knowledgeable and realistic about the extent to which the images were directly relevant to the known leakage problems we were investigating. His careful interpretation enabled sound judgements to be made about what to do next, and also helped diagnose some damp problems we didn't know about that could be tackled at the same time.”
Matt Williams, Churchwarden, St George's Church, Colegate, Norwich. 10.05.11
(Inspection December 2009)
“David Kinsey is an experienced and dedicated expert in period house surveying. His passion for the fabric and detail of houses is comprehensive and very essential when it is the structure and life of a building that is in question. In 2009 we bought a 1925 house in North Norfolk, constructed of a type of ash-concrete brick with lime mortar, then rendered in cement and painted. This is not unusual, but there were worrying damp problems in most of the rooms and an all pervading smell of wet carpet. The damp was caused by rusting gutters and downpipes, bridged damp-courses. Condensation was caused by plastic roof felt and the covering up of floors with foam-backed nylon carpets and thermoplastic tiles on top of quarry tiles. Salts had formed on the walls where the outside render had cracked. And the woodworm were having a party. Not only was Mr Kinsey’s report sensitive to the age of the property, but there was no need for modern invasive work to be done, which would ultimately have caused further problems. The recommendations that were made in the report were carried out, inexpensively and without damaging the integrity of the building, and the house is now sound, dry and smells sweet. I can’t recommend David Kinsey highly enough.”
Sarah Retallack 09.05.11
(Inspection April 2009)

© 2011-2017 David M. Kinsey. All rights reserved.
Unauthorized duplication or publication of any materials from this Site is expressly prohibited.